WONCA Europe

Research Awards


General Practice (GP)/ Family Medicine (FM) is known to be an emerging field for research activities all over the world. Moreover, the characteristics of the discipline, as defined by WONCA Europe, create a demand for multi-methodological research skills.

Thus, Vasco da Gama Movement Research Awards aim at promoting a new generation of GP/FM doctors which sees both research skills and patient care as a life time career.


Applications for the 2017 edition of the VdGM Research Awards are now closed! This year candidates could apply for the traditional Junior Researcher Award and the newly established Promising Research Award. Please find attached more information and instructions for application.


Hall of Fame

The map below illustrates the number of Finalists per contry, in the past editions of the Research Awards.


In 2017, the three finalists for the Junior Researcher Award were: 

Canan Tuz (Turkey)
Eugene Tang (United Kingdom) 
Mark Murphy (Ireland)

They will be presenting their work at WONCA Europe Conference 2017, where the grand winner will be announced!


The three finalists for the Promising Reearch Award, first established in 2017, are shown below. They too will be presenting their work at WONCA Europe Conference 2017, where the grand winner will be announced!

Luís Monteiro (Portugal)
Meryem Baştürk (Turkey)
Patrick O'Donnell (Ireland)


The three finalists in 2016 are shown below.

Nuno Basílio (Portugal)

- grand winner

Persijn Honkoop (The Netherlands)
Carol Sinnott (Ireland)


In 2015 the winner was Katarzyna Nessler (Poland). Other two finalists were: Patrick Redmond (Ireland) and Jessica Watson (UK).

In 2014 the winner was Daniel Pinto (Portugal). Other two finalists were: Danielle Divilly (Ireland) and Sam Creavin (UK).

In 2013 the winner was Nikki van Dessel (Netherlands). Other two finalists were: João Sarmento (Portugal) and Pavel Vychytil (Czech Republic).

In 2012 the tree finalists were Virginia Hernandez (UK), Mirene Anna Luciani (Italy) and Anne Maren Dahlhaus (Germany). Runner-up was Tiago Luís Veloso (Portugal).

In 2011 the winner was Gretel van Esch (Belgium). Other two finalists were: Florian Stigler (Austria) and (The Netherlands).



Theme Group: